Spicy Vegan Sausages with Spring Onion Creamy Mash and Stir-fried Vegetables.

Hey there.

I am back living with my parents after I blew all savings and my overdraft on an amazing traveling trip, so worth it, and my parents happen to have a very lovely kitchen which helps too. My whole family is vegetarian, my brother and I were actually brought up veggie, I’ve never tried meat and plan to keep it that way. To make things even better my Mum has always tried to cook predominately vegan meals, so when I told them I wanted to turn vegan it was a ‘Ok – cool. Did you get up to much today?’ sort of moment (yes – I do realise how lucky I am!).

Anyway, back to the recipe. As I am still waiting for my new job to start and both my parents have demanding jobs I cook all the main meals during the week which I am enjoying more and more as I experiment. Tonight I made my very first vegan sausages and teamed them with onion mash and some veggies which needed using up.

I found a recipe on myinspiration.tv, I was on a huge recipe hunt last night so I’m not 100% sure how I found it. It was probably either through a pinterest link or from a buzzfeed article though. The original recipe can be found HERE – and I highly recommend you check it out, they also included a recipe for some yummy-looking tomato salsa you might like. But I put my own twist on it, enjoy!
IMG_5382

Spicy Tomato Vegan Sausages – makes 8 large

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic finely sliced
  • 2 birds-eye green chilies (deseeded and finely chopped)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • Roughly 1 cup, roasted tomatoes (done ahead of time – allow 45minutes.. see instruction 1.)
  • 1 tsp red chili flakes
  • 1 tbsp Tomato paste
  • 1.5 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika (I used sweet, smoked)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper (more or less to taste)
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • Juice 1/2 lime
  • 1 can Kidney beans, mashed
  • 1 cup plain wholemeal flour
  • 1 or 2 cups breadcrumbs depending on texture. I used 2 slices breads’ worth.
  • 1/2 tbsp flax seed mixed with 1.5 tbsp boiling water (Flax-egg)

Method

To roast tomatoes:

  1. Preheat oven to 200c (395F)
  2. Slice tomatoes length ways and place on baking tray covered in grease-proof paper.
  3. Drizzle very lightly with oil, and add salt and pepper and put into the oven.
  4. The size of the tomatoes means the time varies greatly. For small tomatoes start checking after 20minutes and for larger ones after 30minutes, although they can be as long as 1hour. If they burn a little don’t worry, you can definitely still use them!

To make sausages:

  1. First, add quinoa and 1 cup water to saucepan and simmer for 6/7minutes. Then turn off and leave to stand on one side.
  2. Add 2 tbsp water to a different saucepan and saute the onions, crushed garlic, chopped chilies and roasted tomatoes (as I used small tomatoes I didn’t chop them, for larger ones I would recommend slicing) After 5minutes add tomato paste, all the spices and oregano and black pepper. After 3 minutes transfer the mix to a food processor and blend into a paste, stir in the vinegar and lime juice.
  3. In a large bowl combine all components; quinoa, spiced tomato paste, mashed kidney beans, flour, breadcrumbs and flax-egg.
  4. Line a baking tray with grease proof paper, and start moulding! I find it easier if I work with damp hands and rinse them every 3/4 sausages. I made 8 very generous sausages with these quantities, next time I will probably make a few more, slightly smaller, but the choice is yours.
  5. Cook for around 25 minutes, flipping them over half way through.

Sweet Potato and Onion Creamy Mash – serves 4 regular or 3 large

Ingredients

  •  3 Potatoes – I used 2 sweet potatoes and 1 regular but you can use all of one, or any mixture.
  • 2 spring onions
  • a dash of soya milk

Method

  • Cut potatoes into cubes around 1.5in square, although keeping them similar sizes is more important than the actual size.
  • Bring a saucepan of water to boil and add potatoes, simmer for 10-15 minutes, check them by poking them with a sharp knife, it should go in no problem.
  • Drain and return to the saucepan.
  • Mash potatoes, adding a splash of soya milk for added creaminess and stir in sliced spring onions.

Stir-Fried Vegetables with Ginger and Garlic

For this I just chopped up some courgettes and aubergines (zucchinis and eggplants 🙂 ), crushed a couple of cloves of garlic, grated a small chunk of fresh ginger and stuck it all in a pan with a slither of oil until the veg was cooked.

I needed to use up both pieces of veg, but I think it would work really well with some steamed broccoli and mushrooms too.

IMG_5378

I hope that made sense, as always please ask me any questions. I would also like to apology for the poor photos, I would like to have some better excuse, but I was actually really hungry and decided to photograph and write a post last minute so I hadn’t set myself up and I just wanted to eat.
If any of you try this out – let me know how it goes and of course any improvements or ideas you have. I hope to make some more sausages next week so I’ll keep you posted how that goes. 🙂

