Vegan Rocky Roads

Hey there,

Marshmallows have been the bane of my life for quite some time now. Aged 7 I accidentally ate one at school not realising they were not vegetarian, and I loved it. Once I realised they weren’t veggie I  never ate them again, but I have always wanted them. When traveling in Canada I was introduced to ‘s’mores’ but had to watch other people eat the gooey-goodness and snacked on a cube of chocolate. I managed to convince myself that the toothpaste I used left a ‘marshmallow aftertaste’ even though it had never seen a marshmallow, but the ultimate obsession was with rocky roads. Chocolate tiffin was perhaps my favourite food ever, and it could be made with marshmallows? I wanted to try it all so so badly, but never could.

Then, last week I was cooking dinner for my family and my mum walked in, surprising me with not one, but two bags of marshmallows, with a large ‘Vegan’ sign printed on their packaging. The local health food store had got them in and my amazing Mum had grabbed a couple of the last bags before they sold out – on their very first day in stock. Obviously I ripped open the packaging and tried them – they tasted exactly as I remembered. That evening my brother lit the fire in our living room and I toasted marshmallows for the first time – so good. With much restraint I saved about half the packets to make Rocky Roads. It went really well and they were delicious but it was late and I tried to take a few photos but it was too dark, so I made some more, perfected the recipe and decided to share it with you all.

IMG_5514

IMG_5504

Before it goes into the fridge. Doesn’t it look like a lake of melted chocolate-goodness.

 

Vegan Rocky Road – makes 8 generous portions.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons Maple Syrup
  • 120g Coconut Oil
  • 200g Dark Chocolate (separated into 2 portions of 100g)
  • 350g Vegan Digestive Biscuits, crushed. (I used Sainsburys own-brand)
  • 100g Rasins or Sultanas
  • 75g Vegan Marshmallows (I used Freedom marshmallows, 1/2 packet of vanilla and 1/2 packet of strawberry).

Method:

  1. Cover the base of a 16cmx16cm pan with grease-proof paper.
  2. Melt the syrup, coconut oil and 100g chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pan of hot water.
  3. Once melted, stir in in the crushed biscuits and raisins/sultanas and finally the marshmallows (I chopped some in half to give varying sizes).
  4. Add mixture to pan and press down to compact the mixture.
  5. Melt remains 100g chocolate and pour over the mixture already in the pan.
  6. Place into fridge until set, mine took around 3hours.
  7. Loosen the edges with a knife and remove slab from pan, cut into quarters and then eighths with a sharp knife.

IMG_5522

IMG_5509

 

If any of you try this out I’d love to know how you got on? What are your favourite vegan marshmallow brands? 

