Banana, Coconut Milk and Chia Seed Smoothie

Hey there,

I was feeling a bit ‘meh’ today and had no appetite for lunch, but knew if I didn’t eat anything I was just going to feel worse so I mooched downstairs about 3pm looking for something simple and tasty. When I was younger my Mum use to make my brother and I banana milkshakes when bananas needed were going off or as a special treat, so it has become a bit of a comfort drink, and just what I fancied today.

IMG_5539-3

I decided to add the Chai seeds because I have only recently started to use them, after OhSheGlows used them in her Chilli, which I made here, and they are meant to be full of loads of health benefits and goodness.

From what I understand, the Chia seed comes from a plant which is a member of the mint family and grown in Central and South America. It is higher in fibre than flax seed, contains more Omega 3 than Salmon and also has loads of other good bits like antioxidants, being a complete source of protein, having a high calcium content and helping to reduce cholesterol levels. And that’s not mentioning the potassium, zinc and phosphate levels. When added to a liquid like this smoothie they absorb 10x their weight in water causing them to swell and start to have a jelly-texture to them (although they look like really small frogspawn which is weird), therefore they are also meant to be great at keeping dehydration at bay.

Personally, I try not to jump on too many ‘super food’ bandwagons, as a healthy diet is always going to be a varied one and branding something ‘super’ just seems to enable businesses to add an extra ‘0’ on the end of the price tag. So if these are really expensive near you, they are definitely not an essential part of anyones diet, but as they are pretty reasonable in our local health food shop I decided to grab some and I hopefully they’ll live up to all their claims. I can’t say I have used them enough to notice any difference, nor would I expect to, but I did really enjoy my smoothie and have had a lot of energy this afternoon (probably the banana though, if I’m honest).

IMG_5536-2

Banana, Coconut Milk and Chia Seed Smoothie – makes 1

Ingredients

  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Glass of Coconut Milk (or any other milk)
  • 1 tablespoon of Chia Seeds

Method

  1. Break the banana into a few pieces and put into a food processor or blender, add milk and blend
  2. Pour into a glass and mix in chia seeds.

Clearly a super easy recipe, I would add the chia seeds straight into the glass so you don’t loose half of them round the sides of your food processor/blender and I probably used a lot more than 1 tablespoon in my smoothie but I just sprinkled them in without measuring them first and went a bit crazy. Also leave the smoothie to sit for a couple of minutes to give the chia seeds to soak up some liquid so they aren’t like mini pips that get stuck in your teeth.

IMG_5537-2

Deciding to photograph looking out a very bright window wasn’t my finest photography hour I have to say!

Have you tried chia seeds in any recipes? What do you think of them and ‘super foods’ in general? 

