Black Bean and Red Pepper Vegan Burgers

Hey there,

This recipe has had many variations, I decided a few weeks ago I wanted to create my ‘perfect’ vegan burger, and after lots and lots of experimenting I am finally happy with the results. I particularly like the texture and the spices can be mixed up for varying flavours.

On Tuesday it was my Mum’s birthday and for her birthday dinner she asked me to make a burger + potato wedges dinner, of which there have been quite a few as I experiment with different recipes.

IMG_5609-2

Black Bean and Red Pepper Vegan Burgers – makes 8

Ingredients

  • Vegetable Oil
  • Small Onion
  • 2 red peppers, sliced
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 can black beans (can be substituted for kidney beans)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 slices bread made into bread crumbs and 1 slice breadcrumbs for covering
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 tablespoons chia seed (optional)
  • 2 cups oats blended into flour
  • salt + pepper
  • hot sauce

 Method

  1. Add the quinoa and 1 cup of water to saucepan, boil for 4 minutes then set aside to soak
  2. Cook the oil, onions, pepper and garlic until they are soft, around 5 minutes.
  3. Add the Ketchup and spices and cook for a further 2 minutes.
  4. Blend the onion mixture in a food processor and transfer to a large bowl.
  5. Mix in the quinoa, beans, oat flour, bread crumbs, nutritional yeast, chia seeds, salt, pepper and hot sauce to taste.
  6. Start to mould the burgers out of the mixture, and cover each with breadcrumbs on each side and set aside.
  7. Fry lightly on each side and serve straight away.

burgers

For the birthday meal I served the burgers with potato wedges, corn on the cob, chilli tomato salad and a side salad and topped the burgers with onion slices and cress, but it was too dark to take any photos. Luckily for me it was the perfect excuse to have another one for lunch the next day, this time I just added a side salad, left over chilli-tomatoes and avocado slices and topped the burgers with my favourite vegan mayonnaise.

tomato

For the tomatoes I chopped up a load of tomatoes, a couple of bird-eye chillies and basil and topped it with vinegar, olive oil and salt and pepper, I think the original recipe might be Jamie Oliver’s, but I just guess-timate the quantities – my dad’s favourite.

As always I would love to hear what you think if you try the recipe, and what are your favourite burger toppings?

